Africa Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.4
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  3.6
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  3.4

"None"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   M R. of Douglasdale, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 22, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The place needs to be re touched. They charge you R10 RAND just to use the washing machine. The washing machine leaks water that you can see throughout the whole entrance. That was the main problem I had. I think it has potential though. The staff was alright.

"Shocking"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   L R. of Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 21, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
So the place isn't "bad" but it is not good either. Just in-between. I would like to point out that Gerhard and Tressia are actually the managers of the place so I don't understand why they are writing their own reviews and LYING about how the place is. That is bad ethics for business. This place is run down. Walls are peeling. When I last stayed there the electricity went off numerous times. The shared rooms (mens shared rooms) were very smelly. There are roaches all over the sinks and the kitchen. ALL the kitchen equipment is locked up so you have to constantly keep asking just to cook. The managers are nice at 1st...then they start being rude to after you stay for about a month or more. GUYS SAVE YOUR MONEY N GO SOME PLACE ELSE. It is not worth it here. N if you have any problems they never allow you ro speak to the owner.

"Disgusted"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Unknown U. of Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 21, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Iam enraged! I cannot believe the carelessness of the management at Monte Casino Backpackers! Since my stay here there have been over 5 fights. The manager constantly taunts the tenants accusing them of horrible things. She abuses her rights as a manager and dis respects tenants. I will NEVER come to this place again. I asked for the owners number and was refused that right. It is the worse place I have ever been to...and only because of management. There are too many "additional fees" and you find yourself just losing money. The lights constantly go on and off so DON'T use your laptop. They state that they have free internet but the managers don't allow tenants to use it. They only use the internet to download movies for themselves. I was unable to email my company for an interview because of this. Rubbish place.

"CLEAN/SAFE/CONVIENT"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Marianne L. of Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 18, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
MY TRAVEL PURPOSES WERE FOR WORK AND I WAS EASILY ABLE TO COMMUTE TO THE DIFFERENT BUSINESS DISTRICTS AROUND JOHANNESBURG USING THE GAUTRAIN BUS [ACROSS THE ROAD] TO GET TO THE GAUTRIAN STATION TO TRAVEL ON THE HIGH SPEED TRAIN.

"Great location"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Toby M. of Robindale, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 18, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff were very friendly and theplace was very clean and safe.
The location was great for me because of the night life in the area.

"GREAT LOCATION"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Terianne M. of Umhloti, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 18, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
WE DECIDED TO CHOOSE MONTE BACKPACKERS BECAUSE OF THE LOCATION.
ENJOYED THE POOL IN THE HEAT OF SUMMER AND THE EVENING BRAAIS.
THE PLACE IS VERY CLEAN AND SAFE AND WE WERE CLOSE TO ALL THE ACTIVITIES WE WERE INTERESTED IN.
LION PARK/CRADLE OF MANKIND

"WELL SITUATED"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Gary B. of Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 18, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN PLACE TO STAY.
IDEAL FOR SIGHT SEEING IN THE AREA.
ON MAIN ROUTE TO ALL MAJOR DESTINATIONS IN JOHANNESBURG.
VERY SAFE ENVIROMENT

"Convenient and clean"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Clare P. of Tofo Beach, Mozambique
Reviewed:   July 18, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the place was safe, clean with friendly staff.
The Backpackers is well situated and i was able to enjoy fine dining and shopping.
I would recommend it to anyone.

"Safe/Clean/Great staff/Well situated"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Gerhard N. of Munich, Germany
Reviewed:   July 17, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was able to visit all the places i had planned to when i began my trip.
Monte Backpackers is the closest to the:
Lion and Rhino Park
Cradle of Mankind
Crocodile city and Reptile park
Lesedi Cultural Village
Game Farms and drives
The Fourways area is also world class for eating out and shopping

"Location Location Location"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Tressia N. of Francis Town, Botswana
Reviewed:   July 15, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The location of Monte Backpackers is what attracted me to the establishment.
I was able to visit many places in the area and beyond because of the ease of and safe transport systems.
It is the ideal place to spend the day out and return and relax with so many good restaurants in walking distance.
Staff are great and it must be the cleanest place i have ever stayed at.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 20 reviews




AfricaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us