Africa Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  3.9
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Tegenvaller"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Desiree P. of Leiden, Netherlands
Reviewed:   October 31, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Als je de website bekijkt lijkt het helemaal fantastisch! Na aankomst bleek het flink tegen te vallen. De kamer was echt een donker hok zonder ramen (en frisse lucht). De kamers liggen allemaal aan de gemeenschappelijke eet/ontspanruimte, daardoor is er veel geluidsoverlast. Je hoort echt alles (personeel en gasten). Daarbij zat onze kamer dichtbij de keuken en dat was echt herrie van 'sochtends vroeg tot laat in de avond! De telefoon staat in de gemeenschappelijke ruimte en die gaat ERG vaak. Het lijkt net of er een luchtalarm afgaat.
Het eten valt ook erg tegen. Je bent min of meer verplicht om daar je maaltijden te gebruiken (in de buurt is er niks en s'avonds ga je niet over die gevaarlijke bergwegen lang rijden voor een andere eetgelegenheid). Je hebt geen keuze in wat je te eten krijgt (alleen vegetarisch kun je aangeven en daar houden ze echt rekening mee). Er wordt een smaakloos, saai 3-gangenmenu geserveerd. Bij mij was mijn vegetarische stoofschotel helemaal verbrand (de bodem was 1 cm dikke zwarte koek), maar ik kreeg niks anders en het werd ook nog eens berekend in de afrekening.
Aisha is de 'manager' en die was zeker erg vriendelijk. Zij werkt samen met Mohamed 2 en dat is echt een enorme slijmbal. Overdreven aardig en gedienstig doen. Het werkt echt op je zenuwen. Zo onecht en gemaakt.
Hij kan ook niet rekenen, dus we hebben er een tijdje over gedaan om ons teveel betaalde geld terug te krijgen. Ze kunnen gewoon niet wisselen daar. Je merkt heel erg dat ze uit alles geld proberen te halen in dit complex.
Positieve punten zijn:
het uitzicht!
de omgeving is zeker mooi om te wandelen qua natuur en qua dorpjes en bewoners.
De rit ernaartoe is gevaarlijk en moeilijk te vinden (want geen borden), maar erg mooi!

"we felt like 2 princesses!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Birgit L. of Delft, Netherlands
Reviewed:   October 8, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dear staff, we had 3 wonderfull days at Dar Tassa: we felt like 2 princesses. Room was fine, breakfast/lunch/dinner even better and your hospatality best! Thank you (and I hear you say "your welcome") And thats the way we felt: really very welcome!

"Wonderful time in the mountains"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Sara J. of Berkeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 16, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a great time with everyone at Dar Tassa in spite of the 42 degree heat wave! The most beautiful place, simple and peaceful and the loveliest people in the world working there - we would highly recommend Dar Tassa

"Dar Tassa - heaven"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Benjamin F. of Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 14, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
From the moment we arrived at Dar Tassa we felt that we needed to speak in whispers. Not because it was oppressive; It was amazingly peaceful.

If three course meals aren't enough then you've gone to the wrong place.

Bars there are not. You should take ALL alcohol with you that you'd like.

Beautiful.

"Un moment de rême dans les montagnes"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Martin C. of Montreal, Canada
Reviewed:   August 14, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nous avons passé des vacances de rêves au Dar Tassa dans les montagnes… Tout a été au-delà de nos espérances… Le lieu est à couper le souffle, l’auberge surplombe un petit village bordé par une rivière au fond de la vallée. C’est un lieu incroyable pour aller se ressourcer et relaxer… Le personnel a vraiment rendu notre séjour inoubliable. Le sourire et la bonne humeur de tout le monde est contagieux et il y a un esprit de tranquillité et de quiétude qui règne à cet endroit. Nous avons fait un trek de 6 heures à partir de l’auberge et on nous a préparé un pic-nic qui aurait pu nous faire survivre pendant 2 jours… Beaucoup de belles attentions qui vous vont sentir très spécial… Les chambres et les lieux publics sont vraiment très confortables et très bien aménagés
Fortement conseillé, cet endroit est tout simplement parfait… Nous prévoyons déjà retourner au Maroc avec des amis, et c’est certain que retournerons au Dar Tassa…

Merci à tout le monde pour ce merveilleux séjour et espérant que le chien se porte mieux !!

Avec toute notre amitié, merci

Martin & Odile

"Great Stay at Dar Tassa"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Matt L. of Indianapolis, United States
Reviewed:   May 15, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Tassa. Ham and the girls did everything to make us feel welcome, and it was a really nice change of pace from Marrakesh. Dar Tassa had a great homey feel, and the home-cooked food was teriffic. The nights can be cold in March, so dress warmly. We would highly recommend Dar Tassa to travelers who are interested in getting out of overcrowded and touristy Marrakesh and seeing village life up in the mountains. Very relaxing and beautiful place!

"quiet and friendly place"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Hester V. of wageningen, Netherlands
Reviewed:   May 12, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dar Tassa is nice, well situated, clean and very friendly.

"Great stay in the mountain area"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Volkmar W. of Apolda, Germany
Reviewed:   May 8, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
+pros

breathtaking location at the end of a valley. the view and the silence is just brilliant. the house is very nice and charming, great rooftop a lot of relax plattforms

ultra friendly staff there

- cons
not really suitable for families with small kids (under 4) because a lot of risky stairs and breathtaking platforms without fences (you should mention this on the website)


+/-
dirty, bad, unpaved road (7 km) to the destination from the main road. its fun to drive, but in case of rain, very risky and if you have bad luck

no ATM (better bring a lot of cash from Marrakech), no internet

"DAR TASSA, TASSA OUIRGANE"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   VIRGINIA T. of OXFORD, England
Reviewed:   March 26, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
DAR TASSA IS A CHARMING, PEACEFUL, UNSPOILT AND TIMELESS PLACE TO GO TO WHEN YOU WANT TO ESCAPE THE WORLD. THE HOUSE AND ROOMS ARE DELIGHTFUL AND SPOTLESS, THE STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL, AND THEIR WELCOME IS GENUINE. I WOULDNT TAKE CHILDREN, AS THERE IS NOTHING FOR THEM TO DO THERE - AND THE TERRACE DOESN'T HAVE RAILINGS. ALSO BEWARE THE IN HOUSE COOKERY LESSON - AT 40 EUROS A HEAD WE DIDNT FEEL IT WAS GOOD VALUE. I WOULD CERTAINLY GO AGAIN.....

"Away from the frenetic bustle of Marrakech"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Tessa I. of Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   March 20, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We spent a couple of busy days seeing the sites, shopping and dodging donkeys and motorcycles in Marrakech which was a fascinating experience.
We were pleased that we had arranged to spent a couple of days up at Dar Tassa on the edge of the High Atlas Mountains so that we could enjoy some walking far away from the city bustle.
Dar Tassa's situation is ideal, perched high and out of the village, with great views and good vantage points on the terraces. Hamid, the manager, took us for a short and delightful walk once we had settled in to our room and we were fascinated by what he told us about Berber life locally. We are impressed that Dar Tassa's owners are involved in trying to maintain local traditions and supportive of the local community as well as striving to provide good accommodation but not a glitzy hotel with a swish swimming pool.
However, we did have some slight reservations about our suite which was not quite as comfortable as we had imagined from looking at the website. It was perfectly serviceable but a touch basic with nowhere to hang our clothes and with rush matting that tripped us up frequently and a bath plug mechanism that allowed more water to seep out as one lay in it!

Having said this we could not fault the wonderfully friendly and helpful service offered by Hamid and the girls and we enjoyed the homely food provided. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We chose two guided walks whilst there and the first was a very pleasant few hours exploring with a very friendly guide who gave us mint tea and bread just baked by his wife and local olive oil in his own house (as well as interesting local information). The second walk to Tin Mal was something of a disappointment as there seems to have been a misunderstanding with the guide and we spent most of the day viewing the countryside from inside a taxi instead of on our feet but both Hamid and Brahim have made every effort to look into the matter to find out what went wrong and offered apologies and a partial refund.

Our days spent at Dar Tassa were full of interest as we learned so much about Berber life and could see for ourselves how hard it is. It was very strange indeed to return to Marrakech subsequently for our last burst of city life there.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 44 reviews  Next 10 results




AfricaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us